Notice: Undefined index: a777d in /home/ultimbz4/public_html/index.php on line 3
 Ultimate Sports Talk – Hickey to lead ’17-18 Terriers; Keller named team MVP

Hickey to lead ’17-18 Terriers; Keller named team MVP

Terrier Fan Blog April 16, 2017 Comments Off on Hickey to lead ’17-18 Terriers; Keller named team MVP

At Saturday’s end-of-season Hockey Banquet, the leadership team for next season was announced along with perpetual award winners for the past campaign. Rising senior Brandon Hickey will wear the “C” and will have three assistants: Jordan Greenway, Nikolas Olsson and Bobo Carpenter.

I asked @BHickey14 why he’s returning for his senior @TerrierHockeyseason. The @NHLFlames draft pick’s response after being named captain:

— Jonathan Sigal (@JonathanSigal) April 15, 2017

Award winners:
Clifford P Fitzgerald (outstanding rising Junior or Senior defenseman) Brandon Hickey
Regina Eilberg Scholarship (GPA) – Bobo Carpenter
Ed Carpenter Award (leading scorer) – Clayton Keller
Bennett McInnis Award for Spirit – Doyle Somerby
Iron Terrier Award – Doyle Somerby
Most Improved Player – John MacLeod
Friends Albert Sidd Unsung Hero Award – Nick Roberto
George V Brown MVP – Clayton Keller
Coach David Quinn announced that junior goalie Connor LaCouvee is graduating in three years and will be leaving the program. It is expected he will pursue the graduate transfer option as Robbie Baillargeon (now at Arizona State) did last Spring. With his departure, the Terrier goaltending corps for next season will be Jake Oettinger, Max Prawdzik, who will return after his stint with NAHL Lone Star, and Nico Lynch, who joined the program in January.
On Friday, Prawdzik authored his first shutout for Lone Star in the Brahmas playoff opener, a 3-0 winagainst Wichita, in which he stopped 23 shots. He followed that up with a 7-3 winSaturday for a 2-0 Lone Star lead in the best-of-five South Division Semifinal series.
● Junior Hockey Digest report

Keller was named the 2016-17 recipient of the Tim Taylor Award as the top freshmen in Division 1 hockey.  He becomes the third Terrier to receive the award in the past 11 seasons, joining Kieran Millan (2009) and Jack Eichel (2015).
● report 

Greenway and Keller have been named to the Team USA squad that will compete in the 2017 IIHF World Championships in Germany and France next month.

Information about next season’s schedule has begun to emerge. The season will kick off at home off on September 30 against Union College—the earliest start in program history. With Notre Dame’s departure from Hockey East, the conference will employ an unbalanced schedule of 24 conference games for each school. BU will play three games with Connecticut, Maine, Merrimack and Providence and two contests with the other league teams. Besides Union, BU will host Mankato State (2) and defending NCAA champion Denver, while away out-of-conference games include Quinnipiac and Arizona State (2). Terriers will resume the every-other-season Red Hot Hockey series against Cornell at New York’s Madison Square Garden.

Looking ahead
2017 recruit Brady Tkachuk and 2018 recruit Joel Farabee each recorded an assist in Team USA’s 5-4 win against Russia in the IIHF World U18 Championships in Sweden. With two wins under its belt, Team USA will next face the Czech Republic on Monday.
2017 recruit Shane Bowers was named a third-team USHL All-Star. He finished tied for 10th in USHL scoring with 51 points (22G, 29A). The Halifax, NS, native was ranked #16 among North American skaters in the NHL Central Scouting’s final ranking. He scored a goal and an assist in last night’s 4-1 playoff win against Fargo. Fellow 2017 recruit Hank Cronefinished tied for third in USHL scoring with 62 points (24G, 38A)
Looking back
Former BU captain Wade Meganscored a goal and assisted on the overtime game-winner as AHL Chicago edged Charlotte, 4-3, in the regular season finale to clinch the Central Division title. Megan, who made his NHL debut with St. Louis earlier this season and earned a spot as an AHL’s first-team all-star, finished the year with 66 points—tied for fourth in the league. His 33 goals led all AHL skaters.

● Wolves’ Recap and video

Coach Clark Donatelli’s WBS Penguins have won the MacGregor Kilpatrick Trophy as the AHL’s 2016-17 regular season champions.  David Warsofsky, a second-team AHL all-star, scored 47 points for the Baby Pens, while Sahir Gill had 18 points. 

Powered by WPeMatico

%d bloggers like this: